“2-Minute Recipe for a 2-Second Dragon”

Avid Cloudspotters will probably tell you that after some light-hearted steady experience scanning the heavens for faces, critters and all manner of figures, that one begins to develop a “Cloudy Intuition.”

I’m a relative newcomer to this game, but my three months of conscious cloud watching are really beginning to pay off, and no longer will I default to “being the square” among the kids who “see this stuff” all the time, even as it fleetingly forms before dissolving seconds later.  The last few weeks have found me watching the skies at odd intervals whenever I sense the potential appearance of something special.

In my case, it has also helped immeasurably that my Leica is ever close at hand, as I am currently engaged in a number of active photographic-poetry projects, so I can easily “probe” areas of the heavens closely at telephoto settings, or even with the digital multiplier if so inclined.

I doubt that I would have spotted “the Dragon” without the camera, as it was far off
in the distance and appeared small to the naked eye.  I had a sense that the evening’s sunset might provide some interesting subject matter, and I was right.

It took just 2-Minutes to cook up a “fire breathing dragon.”  The following three frames track its highly ephemeral formation.

.

.

6:29 PM

A quite complex and dramatic sky persisted through sunset,
hosting multiple species and varieties of clouds.

.

.

.

.

I sensed something special unfolding in the lower left of that panorama.

.

.

6:31 PM

The quickly shapeshifting formation of two symmetrically opposed
pairs of glowing double ovals, over the lower-right hot yellow clouds
clued me in that a surprise might be coming.

.

.

.

.

You’ve gotta be “on your toes” for this sort of fun.  Luckily, I was.

.

.

6:31 PM  (just a few seconds later!)

There “it” is – a real beauty.

A “Fire Breathing Dragon” – flaming nostrils and all!

.

.

Gone, dissolved, finito, bye-bye – two seconds later!

.

Happy Cloudspotting!

.

.

. . . . . . . . .

Images captured:   08.02.2010   |   Woodstock, NY

©  2010  George J Nicholson  All Rights Reserved   |  Logo Concept   |   Images   |   Commentary

The photographic imagery appearing within this blog is protected by copyright law. Downloading images, distribution and reproduction of any nature with “commercial intent” without prior written permission of the copyright holder are strictly prohibited. Exceptions will be made in instances of inclusion within excerpts and reviewsof this blog and its author’s work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “2-Minute Recipe for a 2-Second Dragon”

  1. Bill Kane says:

    For some reasons my the last picture reminds me of my cat Buckwheat

    • Bill, whatever you see you see … I see Santa Claus … I think my friend Chuck sees belly dancers … Great to play! … More and more as we age … My new mantra, laugh hard, play hard — let go of the “baggage” (and pray hard) … Geo

  2. Bill Kane says:

    The telephoto lens really comes in handy at times

    • Yes, the telephoto really helps with cloudspotting figures, especially those brewing within swirling masses of cloud ephemera above the setting sun … Sometimes I just use the tele as a “probe” and don’t capture anything … Binoculars will do … Funny, but you do develop an instinct for formations “coming around the bend” … Geo

Leave a Reply

