What do “Frankfurters and Submarines” have in common?

The answer to the question is:  Cumulus . . .  Let me explain.

+  +  +

One evening last week, I was grilling some shrimp and fresh vegetables on the south side of the house, opposite the great panoramic view I have of the West, North and East skies that host the most magnificent cloud play.  I was a little antsy and eager to finish cooking my dinner so I might watch the heavens for possible cloudspotting surprises.

Here’s what I discovered:

.

.

7:15 PM

A monolithic Frankfurter in the sky!

What I secretly wished was on my plate, as I’ve recently sworn off all red meat:
hot dogs, hamburgers – the whole kit ‘n kaboodle.

.

.

.

.

7:15 PM

Here’s a close-up view.

Boy, this one looks yummy!  I can even see dashes of the mustard
and relish overflowing the bun.  Damn!

.

.

That’s a Cumulus lenticularis formation –
something to remember next time you visit the hotdog stand.

.

.

Peering lower to the horizon, I sensed that the heavens might be cooking up
another surprise  . . .

.

.

7:15 PM

I am learning that very busy Stratocumulus activity during the sunset
hours often results in some wild figures.

.

.

By the way, that “Hot Dog in the Sky” was gobbled up in less than two minutes.
(Most Cumulous clouds have a lifespan of less than 5 minutes.)

.

.

Get ready, here it comes  . . .

.

.

7:20 PM

Yes!  A gargantuan “Submarine” riding the “blue waters” overhead  . . .

I couldn’t help but sing:
“We all live in a yellow submarine  . . .  A yellow submarine …
A yellow submarine …”

.

.

This one falls under the Cumulus humilis designation, in case you wondered.

.

.

But wait!  . . .  It looks like the sub has “stalled”  . . .

I’ll bet there’s trouble in the bridge!

.

.

7:21 PM  (one minute later)

Oh oh!  . . .

It appears that the “inner and outer hulls” are exploding  . . .

.

.

I don’t know about you, but the cat and I are rushing back into the house  . . .

.

.

7:24 PM  (four minutes after its appearance)

“Red Alert!  . . .  Red Alert!  . . .”

“This baby’s going down  . . .  Abandon ship!”

.

.

.

.

Whew!  Safe and sound inside after battening down the hatches, I’m just pleased as punch to savor my seafood and vegetables – glad after all that I gave up those hot dogs.

Happy cloudspotting!

.

.

.

. . . . . . . . .

Images captured:   08.10.2010   |   Woodstock, NY

©  2010  George J Nicholson  All Rights Reserved   |  Logo Concept   |   Images   |   Commentary

*  Trident image referenced here may be subject to copyright.

**  This blog holds no commercial value and is published for educational and recreational purposes only, with gratitude to the Internet community and generous organizations and entities such as WordPress that encourage free, wholesome and creative exchange

The photographic imagery appearing within this blog is protected by copyright law. Downloading images, distribution and reproduction of any nature with “commercial intent” without prior written permission of the copyright holder are strictly prohibited. Exceptions will be made in instances of inclusion within excerpts and reviews of this blog and its author’s work.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

